top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

As one chapter ends, another begins

I never thought my days of playing hockey would come to an end so fast. Our team had the season of a lifetime, and we were on the road to success. It all ended abruptly, in the quarter-final game during overtime to a familiar opponent - Minnesota Gophers. Knowing how the previous 5 games went with this team during the regular and post-season, we knew it would be a challenge, but one all 23 of us were willing to rise to the occasion. Matching with the Gophers in a quarter final game would mean this was the 6th time we would play them. If that wasn't enough, we played them the last three years in the quarter final; every time coming out on the short end.

The 6th time meeting with the Gophers was special. Not only for myself, being one of eight seniors, but also for the rest of the younger classmen in the locker room. We all believed in one another and this showed both on and off the ice. Each and every one gave their blood, sweat, and tears to win this game. Unfortunately, it wasn't enough. Someone famous once said, "All good things must end." At the end of the day everyone would pack up their bags, say how proud they were of this group, cry, laugh, and walk out of the rink, to move on. This ending was all too similar for the past 3 years, not making it to the National Championship game, but this year hit me. As soon as I glanced up at everyone in the locker room, my mind was moving so fast - I couldn't think and when I looked up to gather more information all I could do was sit there. It's safe to say my senior season ; hit me. Right then and there. The game, our season, my career - was over.

But, at the end of the day, I was able to say some words to the group on how much they inspired me, and was so thankful our paths crossed. I wished each and everyone of them the best of luck in the future - I know this group of girls is determined, hard-working, and have intentions of doing great things in their lives. In the moment of silence I had as I gave each one of these girls a hug - it was a see you later, not a good-bye. Wishing each and everyone of them the best of luck with thier future endeavors.

As I walked out of the locker room and made my way upstairs to see my biggest supporters, friends, and family. I was approached by so many different people who have touched my lives in ways I didn't even think was possible. Walking by the opponent's coach, he had said how proud he was of our team and how in particular I grew as an athlete - this touched me, even though I stood their in defeat saying thank you, I couldn't control my emotions. As I walked away, I constatnly wiped my tears, and moved on to the next people I wished to thank and say see you later too. I was so happy seeing friends and family who I had played high school hockey with at a private school in Minnesota supporting us and old teammates . This was bitter sweet. As I approached my family, well this too was sad. I was the last sibiling in the family, playing hockey, and now it was ending . . . As I glanced at my phone there were numerous people who had reached out to me reassuring me how our team had done so well this year, and showing how proud they were of what we accomplished. Knowing support is everywhere whether they are with you or not, was special. It was a day - I will never forget, even though the ending went the other way.

Moving on... Well it's tough. It's only been a few days, and my mind still thinks about hockey and especially our team - what we had, how special our group was, and everyone who was apart of it. But, it's getting better. These friendships we created will be lifelong. I'm excited to start opening this next chapter of my life and I will always remember where I came from, who helped get me there, and those who made the experiences memorable.

Thank you to everyone (coaches, friends, family, professors, and teammates). Now, it's time to keep living my dream of being a girl from a small town - who made it.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page